A new year, a new set of crafting goals. Since the kiddo was born, we seem to be swapping off years of heavy travel and years of no travel. 2015 was very travel heavy, 2016 was pretty light, now 2017 is full of events and quite a few of them have some costuming/crafting element.

  • January – Hawaii: We’re going back to Kauai! We went for the first time a couple years ago while I was 7 months pregnant and I had a rough trip. Aside from being a whale, the very humid heat combined with the space heater I was gestating and lack of AC pretty much everywhere meant that I had a hard time feeling comfortable. This trip should, hopefully, be much more comfortable.
    • Crafting
      • Amy Butler Weekender Bag: Now out of print, I made this about 5 years ago and clearly should have referred to my own posts before starting this one as I (once again) ran out of interfacing and probably should have made extra cording.
    • Logistics
      • Amazingly, nothing aside from packing. A car is picking us up to get to the airport and plane tickets and lodging have long since been taken care of. All I have to do is figure out what knitting to bring and how many plane distractions I need to pack for the kid.
  • April – Dapper Day at Disneyland!!!: This will be our third time going for Dapper Day and  we always have a fantastic time. We had plans to go with Siobhan in 2015, but there was the measles outbreak that we wanted to steer clear of . We took her for the first time last year and we all had a really great time. I can’t wait for this year’s trip when she’ll be tall enough to go on more rides and maybe I won’t cry every time she meets a character!
    • Crafting
      • Normally I’d go all out and make a new outfit for each day, but I’ll probably take it easy this year and rewear some existing outfits. Last yea’rs C3PO dress was a hit and was even breastfeeding friendly, which won’t be as much of an issue this year since we’ve cut nursing down mostly to nap/bedtime.
      • If I decide to break out the orange polka dot dress again, I need to replace the busted zipper. I’ve gotten a lot of wear out of it!
      • If I make something new, it will be out of the red and yellow country-style chicken fabric I found recently at Jo-Anns. Something to go with my chicken purse!
    • Logistics
      • Out hotel room was the first thing we booked so we could get a nice room across the street from the park. We’re waiting to get our discounted group rate tickets, but no rush on that. And I’m counting down the days until we can make our dining reservations (Blue Bayou!!).
  • May – HAMILTON!!: Oh man, I can’t believe we were able to get tickets with a group of friends. I can’t wait, I can’t wait, I can’t wait!!
    • Crafting
      • I’m still noodling on the idea of going in costume. It doesn’t appear to be a “thing” that a lot of people do, but I’ve already been considering making a full 18th c. outfit for myself anyway…
      • And conveniently, my 18th c. stays kit from Larkin & Smith just arrived in the mail this week! Now taking bets on how long before I get a splinter from wording with the reed.
      • Consdering this pattern also from Larkin & Smith for the main gown, but there’s plenty to do before I get to this point.
    • Logistics
      • We have an evening show in the middle of the week, so figuring out how to juggle work + getting into the city + finding a baby sitter who can stay late. Well, that’ll be fun…
  • June – SF Diva Half Marathon: This will be my second half marathon and this time I’ll have a time limit I’m working against.
    • Crafting
      • None!
    • Logistics
      • Aside from getting my ass in gear and training regularly, the only real logistics here are figuring out the best way to get down to the event at oh-my-god o’clock in the morning. But it’ll all be worth it for that tiara medal!
  • July – Jane Austen Festival: We tried to make this work last year and couldn’t get it together. This time, we’re planning to stay in the area for 5-10 days and I’ll work remote on non-travel days so it’s not a big rush job.
    • Crafting
      • Oh so much crafting…. I’ve got the linen for my chemise and I’ll be using the Sense & Sensibility pattern. For the stays, I plan to try a second version of the Mantua Makers long stays, though the first time I made these ~8 years ago I had a hard time fitting them between my wide hips and squishy everything else. And if they don’t work out, the Sense & Sensibility pattern I have also has instructions for a set of short stays. I’m still thinking about the dress, but I’ve had the La Mode Bagatelle pattern set in my stash forever, so I’ll play around with those first.
      • After my costume, I’ll figure out something easy for Siobhan. Probably as simple as a chemise and dress that she can run around in. We’ll see how much time/energy I have.
      • And then there’s a full costume for Joe, which I haven’t even begun to process yet. Shirt, pants, waistcoat, overcoat, cravat, hat…. I’m sure the list goes on.
    • Logistics
      • Still lots to plan here as well… Flights, lodging, car…. We haven’t even touched this yet, but will probably book our flights once bonuses at work come out in March.
  • October – NY Sheep & Wool Festival (a.k.a. Rhinebeck): Pretty much Mecca for knitters, I’ve wanted to go to this event for years. I finally decided to make it happen and will be leaving Joe and Siobhan home alone for the first time ever.
    • Crafting
      • No trip is complete without a crazy Rhinebeck sweater project. I have two sets of gorgeous yarn by Manos del Uruguay that are just waiting for the right patterns.
    • Logistics
      • Lodging has been booked and fully paid for through AirBNB. I still need to book my plane ticket and figure out how I’m actually going to get to this tiny town from the airport.
  • December – Dickens Fair: No annual planning would be complete without Dickens! It’s been difficult to manage with a kid and even this past year we only made it out twice (and not in costume) because going with a toddler is tiring business.
    • Crafting
      • I’ve had two bundles of fabric in the wings for new Dickens dresses for a couple years now. Maybe this will be the year Siobhan and I make it out in matching outfits…
    • Logistics
      • Nothing for now, but we’ve got some time.

So, just a little. And of course this doesn’t include all the other projects I need to get done that don’t have events attached to them – Siobhan’s new play dresses, my Alabama Chanin corset top kit (though mine has the fern pattern on it), some new tops for myself, quilts to finish, and plenty of gifts… Back to work!

