Alright, I can’t put it off any longer, it’s time to get back to blogging. After a 5 month absence, quite a lot has happened! Here’s a quick update on the most exciting things going on (in no particular order):
  • Not at all craft related, but I got a promotion at work! Which means more work! Yay! Wait… But honestly, I’m super pleased to no longer be an Admin Assistant. It was an awesome gig and I was/am damn good at it, but it’s time to move on and up and I’m looking forward to learning new things and challenging myself over the next year.
  • I made a new dress for last year’s Dickens Fair! Things had been so busy around that time that I hadn’t made anything new and, unsurprisingly, a number of my dresses from past years had become a little…snug. So, rather than go dancing in modern clothes (like any other normal person would), I took a day off and banged out a new dress in 13 hours. 

It’s colorful, spins fantastically, and, most importantly, fits. The dress fabric is just basic quilting cotton and the sleeve inserts are made from some really adorable aqua polka dot cotton. The lace is a little hard to see, but it’s a gold venice lace and I have another 8 or so yards to trim the bottom of the skirt in the future. Next time (if there is one), it should take even less time since a few hours went to redrafting the bodice pattern.

  • I came up with a new organization system for my sewing projects, which isn’t so mindblowing, but is very handy. Assuming the project is small enough, I’ve now taken to putting all of the materials and patterns in a single gallon ziplock with the project on the outside. 

Now, next time I complain that I have nothing to work on, I can just reach into the bin for a project bag and start sewing because everything I need is right there!

  • I’ve finally started getting around to more modern sewing. Specifically, I did a test of the Sorbetto top by Colette Patterns, which I absolutely love and have plans for a few more. The first version was made of leftover cotton from the Dickens dress and the second version used some absolutely gorgeous Liberty of London cotton (and I used just about every inch of it, too!). Pics of those hopefully to come with a larger post on Colette Patterns.
  • And while making the Sorbetto tops, I also learned to make my own continuous bias tape. I don’t know that I’ll ever go back to buying bias tape again. I have both the 1″ and the 1/2″ bias tape makers, but I’m really hoping to find a 3/4″ as it seems like a nice middle ground.
  • Wedding planning continues on! Now that just about everything else has been handled (I think the only things remaining are the cake, which we’re hopefully handling later this month, and the favors), it’s finally time to start making my wedding dress. The plan is to recreate this amazing dress along with all of the period-appropriate undergarments. My brain (and my friends) keep warning me from going too crazy, but there’s a little piece of me that keeps wondering just how hard it is to paint silk… But first, I needed the right fabric…
  • Which led to a trip to the LA Fabric District in January! I came back with so much amazing fabric and trim, but sadly I can’t go into terribly much detail because…
  • I’ll be writing all about the process in a series of articles for Foundations Revealed and Your Wardrobe Unlock’d! The first article on making the corset was just released on Foundations Revealed and I’m super excited! Naturally, after I started reading the article on the website, I noticed so many things I would have written differently or expanded on. Isn’t that always how it goes? But, for a first real publication, I’m super thrilled and I can’t wait for the second article to go live next week!
  • And as if wedding planning and dress making weren’t time consuming enough, Joe and I will be moving to a house at the end of the month! Not our own house, but one that we’ll be renting from friends of ours and it’s absolutely gorgeous. They let us paint the walls and the past couple of weeks have been spent preparing, shopping, and painting just about every room. It’s significantly smaller than our current apartment (going from 1500 sq ft to less than half that size), but I think we’ll actually be much happier and comfortable here (walls really make all the difference). And we’ll have a yard! I’m already daydreaming about a small dye garden. And herbs. And fruit. And and and…


So TL;DR, my life is going really well right now and I’m looking forward to finally getting back into the swing of things and posting more regularly again.

