It’s been a while since I sat down and made an infinity dress, but I started running across them on Pinterest and then a coworker of mine had never seen one in action and I decided it was time for a reboot. I’d made three to date – a quick and dirty one in September of 2009 from poly-satin (it didn’t have a waistband, nor was it knit, so it tended to sag a bit in the back), another in March 2010 from an old jersey knit bedsheet (again, no waistband, but the fabric clung a bit better and this time with embroidery along the straps), and a third shortly after as a birthday gift to a friend.

This time, I decided I’d do it the ‘right’ way, waistband and all. I went to a Discount Fabrics in the city and browsed their selection of jerseys for something machine washable, lightweight, and with a nice shine to it.

I had to steal the table legs off of another table to set up the second red top and give myself a full cutting surface again. The fabric was 60″ wide and I had 5 yards of it. Since I wanted it to be a full length skirt instead of knee length, I needed to make two half circles at the full length rather than a single circle skirt at the half length, which meant using every inch of the table to measure, mark, and fold the fabric.

Working with this stuff took a little cursing and pleading because it wrinkled if I breathed on it. I did, however, manage to get an even enough fold to trace the skirt.

The leftovers at the bottom were used to make the straps and the waistband. For future versions, I’d probably grab another yard or so to line them since the straps are a bit thin (though this isn’t really a problem depending on how you wrap them around the front).

After sewing my skirt panels together, I cut a 14″x28″ waistband, sewed it into a circle, and folded it in half to make it 7″x28″. I pinned the skirt to the waistband first before pinning the straps at the appropriate areas and one seam later I was done!

My default wrap style in our new apartment (we’re *still* getting rid of boxes; they only have one recycle bin on the floor).

Infinity gowns also make excellent cat toys…

Improvements for the next version:
-Line the straps or at least hem the edges.
-Try a rolled hem along the bottom of the skirt.
-Overlock the top of the skirt/waistband/skirt seams. Sure, it’s all on the inside and won’t be unravelling, but it just looks nicer…

