Here we go – the last post on the dress!

Since I didn’t have time or energy to weave ribbon through the bodice and sleeves, I needed to find another way to draw some attention to them. They were just a little too plain, really, as hard as it may be to believe. But I still had a few rolls of ribbon left and poked into my ribbon bin until I remembered the beautiful antique silk satin ribbon I’d bought from Lacis a couple years back. At the time, I had no clue what I’d use it for, but it was one of those finds that I couldn’t pass up. It seemed fitting to use it now to help make the dress feel a little more special.

Thanks to the power of the internet and YouTube, I was able to quickly learn how to tie bows correctly (pro tip: it takes a lot of patience).

I was starting to go a little crazy at this point and doubled up my bows for the shoulders on the sleeves. If I’d had more ribbon, I would have done this down the front, too. But it was still missing something…

Ah, yes, a collar! Another one of those years old finds that I thought was a great idea at the time, but every time I looked at it in my stash I thought it was too big and bulky to go on anything. I think it absolutely makes this dress and I’m glad I waited to use it.

Finally, it was done.

I received more compliments that day than any other day or than on any other dress, which was really unexpected and honestly made every single one of those buttonholes worth it. No regrets.

