Not being able to post regularly is really starting to get on my nerves and is also providing me with an all too convenient excuse for not finishing these projects. Well, I can’t post anyway, so there’s no real rush to finish, right?….

In the meantime, here’s a quick post about a great series of sew alongs coming up to mark an anniversary!

April 10, 2012 will mark the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic and it’s a great excuse to make a 1912s dress to wear to an event. For ladies in the San Francisco Bay Area attending the April Gaskell Ball, join The Unsinkables to create an evening gown to mark the occasion! Even if you don’t live in the area or aren’t planning on attending the event (or not in costume), do you really need a better excuse to make that Edwardian gown you’ve been lusting after?

But what am I supposed to wear underneath it all?

If you’re really up for a challenge, join Jo of Bridges on the Body fame to make a 1911 corset in January using the pattern from Nora Waugh’s Corsets and Crinolines. If you don’t have access to the book, she also wrote a terrific post on the corset she made for Foundations Revealed.

Will I have the time or patience to make my own corset and dress? Maybe. I think I could get through the corset just fine, but then I’d still have to make a proper Edwardian petticoat and the dress by April. I’d love to have a go at it, but only if I have the time to do it justice.

Either way, both groups are definitely worth keeping an eye on!

