Ok, I’ll admit it, I’ve been putting off doing any work on this dress even though it needs to be done by the end of this month or there’s no way I’ll finish all of my projects in time for their respective events.

It’s made up of a lot of pieces and it needs to look perfect and I’ve really only very recently been able to cobble together the final design of what I want it to look like. The majority of this week was spent clinging to handholds on BART while trying to do math I only vaguely remembered until I finally admitted the easiest way to do this way going to be to just spread the fabric out on the table, cut out the basic shapes, and trim them down later.

Not so conveniently, I’m stuck at home today with The Sick, so I might as well make myself useful and sew something between shots of Pepto.

So, today is going to be a long series of posts, which should hopefully motivate me to keep going while also giving me an opportunity for breaks.

To start it off, a picture of what the final skirt will (in theory) look like. Also, if half way through these posts you can’t figure out exactly what my costume is..well.. then I’ve got nothing.

I am not at all a fan of what the official Disney version looks like. It doesn’t move or open up despite what Disney Dress Magic would tell you. The goal is to keep true to the shape and design but open it up more.

There are 5 tiers to this skirt – the first four are layers of swags (5 of each size, to be precise) on top of a base ruffle. All of the tiers are going to be on a set of base trapezoid pieces (much like a petticoat) that will be about 5 yards of hem at the bottom (22″ long). I’m a little skeptical of the 5 yard hem (it seems terribly small), so I’ll cut that out first and give it a spin to make sure there’s enough oomph in the base.

But before any of that… I have to clean the table off. Boo.

 

 

