So I’m actually composing this post on Wednesday the 22nd because this is/was a Super Seekrit project for Karen’s birthday and only just received it.

I saw this pattern when it first came out in Vogue Knitting’s 2006 Holiday Issue. It looked super cool, but it didn’t interest me enough at the time to make it. 

Fast forward 5 years and I have a stash with too much yarn and a birthday present to make.

Ta da!

Detail shot

The original pattern called for the scarf to be double knit in Stockinette stitch throughout, but I couldn’t actually remember or be bothered to look up the exact technique so mine wound up being double knit in garter stitch instead. Honestly, I think it looks better this way. At first I meant to do just the ends in garter stitch and do the braid in St st, but inevitably forgot all about it.

If I were to knit this again, I’d probably try to make the strands longer. Right now, the entire thing will wrap around the neck once, with the ends overlapping enough to be pinned closed. Also, I probably wouldn’t have made it so wide. I started under the assumption that if I cast on 90 stitches, because it’s double knit, it would only end up being 45 stitches wide. Well, apparently that’s not true.

I still have about a skein of each color left and I’m debating making some sort of matching hat or mittens (a little too bulky for gloves, I think).

Dear Karen,

Please for the love of god don’t put this in the washing machine.

Love, me.

P.S. You are still The Best. Happy Birthday!

